Skip to main content

ICD-10, 5010 and NPI information

What you need to know

It is vital that all health care providers have correct information regarding ICD-10 and its implementation. The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is used to report medical diagnoses and inpatient procedures. The 10th revision of this code set (ICD-10) replaces ICD-9.


Read ICD-10 FAQs

Get information about important changes with the new 5010 HIPAA transaction standards.


Read claims processing FAQs

Federal regulations require you to submit HIPAA standard electronic transactions with only your National Provider Identifier (NPI).


Learn more about the NPI


Submit NPIs


Note: More stringent state requirements may supersede the requirements of these policies.

Legal notices

Aetna is the brand name used for products and services provided by one or more of the Aetna group of companies, including Aetna Life Insurance Company and its affiliates (Aetna).

Health benefits and health insurance plans contain exclusions and limitations.

Also of interest: